top of page

the blog

Pocket Holes: Outlaw-Style

One of my absolute favorite and most used tools is my Kreg Pocket Hole Jig, but it was not long ago that I had no idea what a pocket hole was, why I would need one, or how to make one. So I wanted to make a quick tutorial to break down the answers to these questions, and so that you can decide if a pocket hole jig is something that you want or need.


A pocket hole is simply a pilot hole drilled into a piece of wood at an angle. I use pocket holes when I want to join two pieces of wood together while keeping the screws hidden. There is not much to it, and it becomes second nature after you have used the jig a few times. Check out how to make a pocket hole in eight simple steps below.


Step 1: Measure your wood thickness.


Step 2: Set your pocket hole base to match your wood thickness.


Step 3: Set your pocket hole drill bit to match your wood thickness.


Step 4: Measure and mark where you want your pocket holes to be placed on the back side of your wood - this will be the side of the wood that will not show.


Tip: Refer to your user manual, as there are real and accurate measurements suggested. Buuut... if you want a general idea, I typically start my first pocket hole 2” in from the end, then place each consecutive hole about 6” apart until I reach the other end.


Step 5: Stabilize your jig by clamping it to your table or workbench.


Step 6: Firmly clamp your wood and adjust if needed.

Step 7: Drill your pocket hole.


Tip: If you feel resistance, don’t force it, try backing out your bit to release some built up sawdust and try again.


Step 8: Refer to the user manual to ensure that you are using the correct size screw, clamp your wood pieces together so that you get a tight joint, and drive a screw into each pocket hole to join your pieces of wood together.

 

Pocket Hole Screw Hack


*DISCLAIMER* This hack is probably frowned upon in the world of woodworking, but it works great for me and my projects!


For a long time I was under the impression that I had to use the particular pocket hole bit and screws that come with the jig system I purchased, because you need a long bit to get into the pocket hole at the correct angle. That was until I discovered (and by "I", I mean, my boyfriend told me) that I could buy a 6” Phillips head drill bit for $7 that would allow me to use regular screws, which are half the cost!


The experts might cringe at this advice, as the regular screws may not be “self-tapping” or have the proper “oversized washer head” that pocket hole screws apparently have…but then again, maybe they do, I have no idea. Bottom line is, they seem to work just fine for every project that I have used them for. The savings on screws will quickly make up for the $7 investment in the drill bit, and if you're anything like me, you'lI get immense satisfaction out of feeling like you're in some way beating the system.


 

Pretty cool, huh?! If you'd like a printable copy of these instructions, you can download them here.

Ready to put your new skill to work? Try making your own DIY Scrap Wood Standing Desk!


To keep up on all our fun projects and more outlaw tips, follow us on Instagram, Pinterest, and Facebook! Happy handcrafting!

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page