top of page

the blog

Build Plans: Backyard Bar


I have spent the last two years building lemonade stands, picnic tables, and faux fireplaces for so many wonderful customers. I light up every time we get a message saying how much they love their order; and I have learned better ways to construct my designs along the way. This community of customers has helped to build both my confidence and this small business, which is so special to me and my sister.


While I love being the builder, I started to think about my fellow DIYers who scroll through Pinterest and save all of the projects that they would love to make themselves one day. I know how much joy and satisfaction I get out of building something with my own two hands, and when it’s for my daughter, it’s even more special! In an effort to spread this same feeling of joy to the doers and tryers, we decided to start creating build plans for all of the fun projects

that keep me awake at night, as I dream up new designs in my head (currently a mud kitchen/veggie washing station for my daughter).


First up… the backyard bar! I love the simplicity and versatility of this bar. Paint and style it to fit any décor; then enjoy it all summer long with friends and family sharing laughs and making memories with a cocktail in hand.



Before I start offering up my build plans, I must warn you that I tend to just forge ahead when I work on projects. I will admit that I don’t necessarily do the most thorough prep work or follow all of the guidelines. I tend to just use what I have on hand,

because I am an instant gratification kind of gal. That’s just who I am. There may be a “better” way, but there surely isn’t only one way. So, if you’re ready to just get started, you’re in the right place! The goal is to empower anyone, regardless of skill or confidence level, to give it a try. To foster this “can-do” attitude, we are going to include original build plans, as well as a simplified “I don’t have all of the fancy tools” version for as many builds as possible. Here is what you can expect from me (and what I expect from you):

  1. Use what you have. If you don’t have a specific tool, modify it.

  2. Scrap wood or other reusable materials are always a yes! #saveourplanet

  3. We keep it short and to the point. I like easy to follow plans with only the important stuff, so that's what I want to provide for you.

  4. Make it your own. Don’t be afraid to stray from the plans. They are just showing you one way to do it, not the only way.

  5. Just get started! Mistakes are always fixable and you do not have to consider yourself a woodworker, or even a DIYer, before you are capable of building these projects...we promise!


Now, let’s make a backyard bar! Click the button below to snag your build plans. You will get a complete supply list and easy-to-follow step-by-step instructions, with detailed graphics!

 

We would love to see what you create. So please follow us on Instagram, Pinterest, and Facebook, and then don't forget to share your photos! Tag us on Instagram @westcoast_wildflowers.


Help us pick our next build plan project...What have you been dying to make? Comment below with your ideas. 👇🏼


xo, Kellyn & Kristin

Comentarios


bottom of page