top of page

the blog

How to... DIY Rolling Pallet Coffee Table

Level: Easy Cost: Free to $20 Time: 1 ½ hours

This little pallet table holds a special place in my heart because it was one of my very first DIY projects. I made it when I got my very first apartment, and it has been following me around from home to home ever since. This project was born from having the desire to freshen up my space while also having a lack of power tools. Given that the only power tools needed were a sander and a drill, I was confident that I could pull it off. The pallet table is the perfect mix of rustic and refined, can be used indoors or outdoors, and more than does its job.


The best part? This thing is basically indestructible. Back in the day, damaged furniture during parties at my place was of little concern, thanks to this beauty. And now that I'm older and more mature (debatable?), I don’t worry about my daughter spilling, drawing, or painting on it because, well, it’s just pallets. Most of the messes simply add a splash of character - and when it starts to look more junkyard than rustic, I just do a quick sanding and give it a little refresh.

 

SUPPLY LIST

● (2) Wood Pallets

Sander

● Paint or Stain of Your Choice

Drill

● Screws

 

INSTRUCTIONS

Step 1: Choose Pallets.

Whether you already have pallets laying around that you have been wondering what to do with, or you need to find some, this step should not take long or require much, if any, money. Websites and apps, like Craigslist, are full of “free pallet” listings. If you ask nicely, you may even be able to get a local business to give you a few of their unused pallets! 😉 Keep in mind that you do not need to worry about finding two identical pallets in pristine condition. Mine are not the same size, but I did care about using a pallet with relatively small spacing between the boards for the table top.


Tip: If the openings are too big to serve as a functional table top, break another pallet down and use that wood to fill in some of the spaces.


Step 2: Sand Pallets.

Here is a do as I say, not as I do moment, which seems to be a common theme through my blog posts. I almost made this step optional because I myself did not originally sand my pallets. And while I did not mind the rustic look, it is absolutely worth the extra 15 minutes that it takes to get a smooth surface that won’t scratch or stab your leg as you walk by. Since sanding my old coffee table, I no longer worry about my daughter scratching herself or getting a splinter, and I was able to even out some of the spots that would give me a small heart attack every time I went to set down a glass of wine.


Step 3: Paint Pallets.

Now for the fun stuff… get outside, throw on a Pandora playlist, and bust out the paint brushes. As you know, I made my table years ago and I was impatient to get it done, so I used leftover white high-gloss indoor paint from my mom’s garage. I love it and have never had an issue, but if you plan to keep your table outside, you might want to consider an outdoor paint or stain to maximize the lifetime and durability.


Step 4: Add Wheels.

I personally like the look of these steel wheels, but sadly, they are not available with a (highly recommended!) locking option. At my house, it’s just not feasible to keep kids from leaning on, climbing on, and jumping off of the table, so I had to go with a more practical alternative. If you have a less chaotic household than mine, then by all means, go for style over practicality - I'll live vicariously through photos of your finished product!


Simply flip the bottom pallet over and secure with screws.


Step 5: Connect Pallets.

For the final step, you will stack both tables upside down so that the bottom of your table is facing up (wheels are on top). Find a spot where the pallet boards are overlapping, drill a pilot hole completely through the first pallet and about halfway through the second pallet. Then connect the two pallets with screws. I used (4) 1 ¼” screws to secure the top pallet to the bottom. When you flip your table back over, the screws will be hidden underneath...like magic!


Tip: If your table is too low, simply add some pieces of wood between the two pallets, to create the ideal table height. My table is pretty low, but it’s perfect for my outdoor space, and doubles as a footrest at times. (Pictured coffee table dimensions: 39”x20 ¾”x12”)

 

Ready to give it a go? If you'd like a printable copy of these instructions, you can download them here.

We would love to see what you create. So please follow us on Instagram, Pinterest, and Facebook, and then post your project picture and tag us in it! Happy handcrafting!

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page